

Energy Institute Ireland Branch Committee

Ben Costello, Membership Officer

Ben Costelloe is the membership officer for Ireland of the Energy Institute and is a former senior lecturer and Head of Department at Bolton Street DIT (now TUD). He holds a PhD in mechanical engineering (UCD) and a Masters degree (Brunel) and is active in low energy/low carbon heating/cooling/ventilation systems design and research and has published many repeatedly cited papers on evaporative cooling. He regularly peer reviews research papers for Elsevier energy journals.

John O'Brien, Treasurer and YPN Officer

John O'Brien is the Treasurer and founder of the YPN for the Energy Institute Republic of Ireland. John has a BSc in Geology from University College Cork and an MSc in Integrated Petroleum Geoscience from the University of Aberdeen. John has a wide range of experience in energy industry from working in Governmental Departments, Semi-State Bodies and private companies. Johns current role is as the Client Trading Business Partner for ElectroRoute, currently based in Dublin.

Tom O'Brien, Committee Member

Tom O'Brien is Managing Director of Nephin Energy, Ireland's largest domestic producer of natural gas. He has over 20 years' experience in the energy industry including over 10 years in the projects and energy department of one of Ireland's leading law firms. Since then, Tom has held senior executive roles at a number of Irish companies, including two Irish Plc's. Tom is a regular contributor to energy policy debate in Ireland. He holds an LLB from University College Cork, an LLM from University College London and a Diploma in Finance from University College Dublin.

Liam P. Ó Cléirigh, Secretary

Liam P. Ó Cléirigh is Managing Partner at Byrne Ó Cléirigh, a firm of professional engineers and management consultants. He provides business advisory services throughout the enterprise and public sectors, with a particular focus on energy, climate change, business processes and risk management. He has advised clients in Sweden, Slovenia, Italy, Britain and Malaysia, as well as throughout Ireland. He

holds a Bachelor's Degree in Mechanical Engineering, a Master's Degree in Engineering Science and an MBA from University College Dublin. He is a Chartered Engineer, a Chartered Energy Engineer, and a Fellow of both the Energy Institute and Engineers Ireland.

Jerry O'Sullivan, Committee Member

Jerry O'Sullivan is Deputy Chief Executive and Executive Director Strategy, Innovation and Transformation at ESB. He joined ESB in 1981 and has held a number of positions in power station construction, marketing, retail, contracting, customer service, distribution and transmission. Jerry was appointed Head of Network Services in 2002 and Head of Sustainability and Network Systems in 2008, before becoming Managing Director of ESB Networks Ltd in 2010. He is a member of the board of the International Energy Research Centre in UCD and a member of the European Technology Platform. Jerry holds a degree in Civil Engineering from University College Cork

Professor J Owen Lewis, Committee Member

Owen Lewis chairs the IIEA Working Group on Climate. He is also Emeritus Professor of Architectural Science, UCD Dublin, and was Chair of the Energy Institute in Ireland. He is a member of the Boards of the National Gallery of Ireland, and the Marine Institute. Owen is President of the Royal Dublin Society. He was previously Chief Executive of the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI) between 2009 and 2012. Qualified as architect, engineer, and energy technologist, he has practised professionally in Ireland, England and Zambia. He was part-time Executive Director for Innovation and R&D at Bord na Móna between 2006 and 2008. Owen was Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Architecture at UCD Dublin and later Principal of the UCD College of Engineering, Mathematical and Physical Sciences. In 1976 Owen co-founded the Solar Energy Society of Ireland.

Owen McQuade, Chairperson

Owen McQuade is Director of Energy Ireland. Owen has an extensive knowledge of the energy sector gained from a number of strategic roles within Ireland with the Viridian Group and internationally with the Royal Dutch/Shell Group. He is author of several best-selling reports for FT Energy and Reuters Business. Owen is former editor of the Energy Ireland Yearbook, the Environment Ireland Yearbook and the Energy Ireland Renewable Energy magazine. He is Chair of the Energy Institute Republic of Ireland Branch.