Definitions

Regional definitions

Country groupings are made purely for statistical purposes and are not intended to imply any judgment about political or economic standings.

North America

US (excluding US territories), Canada, and Mexico.

Caribbean

Atlantic islands between the US Gulf Coast and South America, including Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, and Bermuda.

Central America

Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama.

South and Central America

Caribbean, Central America, and South America.

Europe

European members of the OECD plus Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Gibraltar, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, and Ukraine.

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Middle East

Arabian Peninsula, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, and Syria.

Northern Africa

Territories on the north coast of Africa from Egypt to Western Sahara.

Eastern Africa

Territories on the east coast of Africa from Sudan to Mozambique. Also, Madagascar, Malawi, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Middle Africa

Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and Sao Tome & Principe.

Western Africa

Territories on the west coast of Africa from Mauritania to Nigeria, including Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Mali, and Niger.

Southern Africa

Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, and South Africa.

Asia Pacific

Brunei, Cambodia, China[†], China Hong Kong SAR*, China Macau SAR*, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia,

North Korea, Philippines, Singapore, South Asia (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka), Myanmar, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam, Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, and Oceania.

- † Mainland China
- * Special Administrative Region

Australasia

Australia and New Zealand.

OECD members (Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development).

Europe: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Türkiye, and UK.

Other member countries: Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Israel, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, South Korea, and US.

OPEC members (Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries)

Middle East: Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, and United Arab Emirates.

North Africa: Algeria and Libya.

West Africa: Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Nigeria, and Republic of Congo.

South America: Venezuela.

European Union members

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

Non-OECD (Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development). All countries that are not members of the OECD.