Skip to content

EI Awards Judging Panel

Entries for the EI Awards are peer-reviewed by an independent panel of respected industry experts.

The 2017 judging panel is:

Chair of the EI Awards judging panel
Lynda Armstong OBE FEI, Chair of Trustees, British Safety Council

Head judge: Sam Lister, Director of Communications, Partnerships & Governance, BEIS

Community Initiative
Head judge: John Elsegood, Head of Community and Regional Relations, National Grid
Sponsor judge: Phil Taylor, Senior Manager, New Developments, Nexen Petroleum UK

Head judge: James Brittain CEng MEI, Energy Management Director, The Discovery Mill 

Energy Champion
Head judge: Mike Longman FEI, Pipeline Integrity Manager, ExxonMobil Global Pipelines
Sponsor judge: Mark Barnes CMILT, Head of Development – Energy, Wincanton

Energy Excellence
Head judge: Malcolm Brinded CBE FREng FEI, President Elect, Energy Institute
Sponsor judge: Simon Farmer, Energy & Business Development Director, Amey

Head judge: Dr Robin Nelson, Science Director, CONCAWE

Head judge: Prof John Loughhead OBE, Chief Scientific Advisor, BEIS
Sponsor judge: Nicholas Palmer, Managing Partner, Palmer International Partnership LLP

Head judge: Howard Harte, Operations Manager, HSE
Sponsor judge: Robin Bryden, ‎Global Expertise Lead - Behavioural Safety and HSSE & SP Leadership, Shell 

Head judge: Graham Meeks FEI, Director of Policy, Green Investment Bank UK
Sponsor judge: Gareth Lane, Development Director, SAI Global

Young Energy Professional of the Year
Head judge: Stephen Burgin FEI, Regional Vice President, Europe, GE Power
Sponsor judge: Dr Konstantinos Vatopoulos, Technology Specialist, Energy & Carbon, Aramco


Judging procedure

The EI Awards judging is done in two main stages:

Stage 1 - Shortlisting entries

The judges review each of the submission forms. Entry statements of between 500 and 1000 words will be assessed against the specific criteria for that category. The judges will put together a shortlist of the strongest entries for each of the categories.

Stage 2- Selecting the winners

The winners for each category are decided at a panel meeting held in July. The Head Judge for each category will put forward their recommendation for the winning entry and the whole panel will deliberate over which entries are the most worthy winners. The judges will also decide who should be awarded with the Energy Excellence Award for the year's best overall EI Awards entry.

Young Energy Professional entries:

If your entry is shortlisted you will be required to deliver a presentation in front of the judges at the judging panel held in London the week commencing 24 July 2017 (in person or via Skype). Please save these dates in your diary to ensure that you are able to participate in the next round of judging. You will be notified of whether you have been shortlisted and are required to present to the judging panel at the start of July.

Announcing the shortlist and winners

The shortlist will be announced in August following the judges' panel meeting in July.

The winners will be revealed at the EI Awards Dinner, which will take place on 9 November at the Sheraton Grand, Park Lane, London.


[ Back to the EI Awards homepage ]

Not a member?