Skip to content

Entering the EI Awards

EI Awards 2018_web banner_Feb

Entries for 2018 are now open.

Submit your entry

The EI Awards is a competition run by the Energy Institute for those shaping the world's energy future.

The awards celebrate the achievements of the energy industry across the globe, giving recognition to individuals and organisations who take an innovative and responsible approach to solving the industry's challenges of providing society with clean, sustainable, low cost and dependable energy.

Why enter the EI Awards? 

The energy sector as a whole is vital to society. It does a huge amount of good work which the EI Awards celebrate and shout about. The EI Awards recognise the highest level of commitment to serving society and outstanding achievements within the energy sector.

Winning an EI Award provides a prime opportunity to have your achievements recognised by a senior panel of energy experts, and the wider industry.

Watch our video highlights from the EI Awards 2015 competition to see what the excitement is all about:


How to submit an entry:

To enter the competition, please follow these three simple steps:

1. Select an award category. Ensure you read the entry guidelines carefully.

2. Download the entry form

3. Return your completed form(s) to Francesca Ferrari at:

Energy Institute
61 New Cavendish Street, London W1G 7AR


Judging procedure

The EI Awards judging is done in two main stages:

Stage 1 - Shortlisting entries

The judges review each of the submission forms. Entry statements of up to 500 words and graphics will be assessed against the specific criteria for that category. The judges will put together a shortlist of the strongest entries for each of the categories.

Stage 2- Selecting the winners

The winners for each category are decided at a panel meeting held in July. The Head Judge for each category will put forward their recommendation for the winning entry and the whole panel will deliberate over which entries are the most worthy winners. The judges will also decide who should be awarded with the Energy Excellence Award for the year's best overall EI Awards entry.

Young Energy Professional entries:

If your entry is shortlisted you will be required to deliver a presentation in front of the judges at the judging panel held in London the week commencing 24 July 2018 (in person or via Skype). Please save these dates in your diary to ensure that you are able to participate in the next round of judging. You will be notified of whether you have been shortlisted and are required to present to the judging panel at the start of July.

Announcing the shortlist and winners

The shortlist will be announced in August following the judges' panel meeting in July.

The winners will be revealed at the EI Awards Dinner, which will take place on 22nd November at the Sheraton Grand, Park Lane, London.


The EI reserve the right to re-allocate your entry to another category, as deemed appropriate to the judging criteria and the merits of the project(s) being entered.                                                                                  

Back to EI Awards homepage ]

Not a member?