Skip to content

Could you be Energy Manager of the Year 2017?

Energy Manager of the Year 2016 Jude Hughes

The Energy Institute (EI) is proud to sponsor the Energy Manager of the Year (EMY) Award again in 2017, which is part of the Sustainability Leaders awards run by our partners, edie. The EMY Award has been in existence since 2000 to recognise leading energy managers from a range of public and private sector organisations . 

Energy Managers had a busy year in 2016 - most were engaged with the requirements of ESOS and even those in sectors not affected by ESOS were challenged by the low oil price. However the quality of entry to the EI EMY Award was, as usual, exceptional and we were delighted to present Jude Hughes, Environment and Energy Manager at the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control with this year's trophy.


Sarah Beacock'The EI has judged this award since its inauguration in 2000 and the fact it is still going 17 years later demonstrates its value in raising the awareness of this important discipline. We've celebrated the key role energy managers play in their organisations for even longer than that and will continue to set the standards to which professional energy managers aspire.'

Sarah Beacock FEI, Skills and Capability Director, Energy Institute


How to enter

The competition is open to both EI and non-EI members.

Ensure you give yourself the best possible chance of being shortlisted by reading the criteria and entry information.

Register your 'Intention to enter' and get a deadline extension.

Rates and deadlines

Early Bird rate of £99 + VAT if you enter by 16 August.  Enter now 

Standard rate of £149 + VAT until 13 September

EI members will get a 40% discount on the entry fee. Enter code 09855CULJHEPI63 when prompted during the checkout stage.


Award presentation

The Energy Manager of the Year Award is run as part of the Sustainability Leaders Forum which will take place in London on 25-26 January 2017. There is a whole host of other awards that your organisation could be eligible for and the conference provides a perfect platform to showcase your achievements.

The ceremony announcing the winners will take place on Wednesday 25 January at the Hilton Park Lane in London.

We look forward to seeing you there!

Not a member?