Skip to content

Melchett and Cadman Awards and Lectures

The Melchett and Cadman Awards are among the most prestigious awards in the gift of the Energy Institute and are awarded to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the energy industry. Presentation of the Melchett and Cadman Awards is followed by a lecture delivered by the Award recipient.


Melchett Award and Lecture 2016
28 June, London

The EI is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2016 Melchett Award is Professor Sir David King HonFEI, Foreign Secretary’s Special Representative for Climate Change, Foreign & Commonwealth Office. 

Sir David will be presented with this award at an event in London on 28 June, where he will also deliver the Melchett Lecture 2016. The lecture is followed by a drinks reception and opportunity to celebrate Sir David’s achievement. 

Attendance at the lecture is free of charge. Places fill up quickly so please register your attendance early to avoid disappointment. In the case of oversubscription, priority will be given to EI members.

> Click here to go to the registration page

Drinks reception sponsored by


Melchett Award

The EI Melchett Award is named after one of the first EI Presidents, The Rt Hon Sir Alfred Mond, later to become Lord Melchett and Chairman of ICI. It was instituted in 1930.

Who receives the Award?
The Melchett Award is presented biannually to an individual for their outstanding contribution to the study or advancement of the science of fuel and energy, including original research or professional, administrative, or constructive work of an outstanding character involving the scientific preparation or use of fuel, provided the results of such work have been made available within recent date for the benefit of the community.

> Find out more about the Melchett Award here.

> View the list of past Melchett Award recipients here

> View a selection of past Melchett Lecture presentations here


Cadman Award

The Cadman Memorial Fund commemorates the late Lord Cadman of Silverdale, Chairman of the Anglo-Iranian Oil Company (now BP) and Past President of the Institute of Petroleum. The first Cadman Award was given on 27 March 1946 and since its initiation, the fund has provided for the endowment of a memorial award and lecture on an aspect of the science of petroleum. 

Who receives the Award?
The Cadman Award is one of the most prestigious awards in the gift of the Energy Institute and is presented to an individual for their outstanding and significant service to the oil industry on an international basis.

> Find out more about the Cadman Award here.

> View the list of past Cadman Award recipients here

> View a selection of past Cadman Lecture presentations here


For more information please contact Francesca Ferrari:
t: +44 (0)20 7467 7192

Not a member?