Skip to content

Media centre

Record year for global talent in Energy Institute Awards 2017

Released on 11/09/2017

Entries from a record 29 countries have been submitted to the Energy Institute (EI) Awards 2017, the EI announced today as it published the shortlists for each of the prestigious categories.

The awards that showcase excellence in the energy sector are back for the 18th year running. The 124 entries for this year’s awards have now been shortlisted by an independent panel of respected industry experts who have chosen 44 outstanding entries across 10 categories. 

Malcolm Brinded CEng FEI, EI President and Head Judge for the Energy Excellence Award said:

“The EI Awards is a prestigious competition within the energy sector, which attracts high-calibre entries from around the globe, and demonstrates the vast amount of innovation and progress being made to shape the safe, reliable, affordable and sustainable energy system the world needs. 

“These are issues that sit at the heart of the EI’s purpose. All our judges are delighted to be recognising the inspiring and important work of organisations and individuals in addressing these challenges. 

“Congratulations to all those who have been shortlisted.”

The shortlisted entries are as follows:

Communication Award

  • Big Green Machine for Project Earth Rock (PER) – Building climate change education into the curriculum through song and animation
  • Choice Housing Ireland for Energy Awareness Campaign
  • K-Electric for K-Electric Online Communication Model
  • Vivergo Fuels for Making the case for E10

Community Initiative Award

  • Bright Green Hydrogen for The Levenmouth Community Energy Project 
  • Brighton & Hove Energy Services Co-operative for The Warmth for Wellbeing Project
  • Renewable World for Lighting Up Lake Victoria Programme
  • Sarhad Rural Support Programme for Community led renewable and sustainable energy projects in most harsh and fragile environments, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Northern Pakistan 
  • SGN for SGN in partnership with Solutions for the Planet

Efficiency Award

  • Chartwell Energy Solutions for The Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge
  • Pets at Home and Ignite Energy for Project Aether
  • London Metropolitan University for Lighting Up London Met
  • Palmer International Partnership for Efficient Energy Design reduces Carbon Footprint by 1.7 million tonnes/year and saves US$130 million/year
  • Parkwood Leisure for Energy Reduction Project at Barry Leisure Centre: Building Management System (BMS) optimisation with CO2 sensor installation

Energy Champion Award

  • Daniel Connor GradEI, Energy Specialist, npower
  • Ian Lane CEnv MEI Chartered Energy Manager, Head of Sustainability, University of the Arts London
  • Montaser Mohamed Zamzam, Advisor, Energy Management, Abu Dhabi National Oil Company
  • Sonya Bedford GradEI, Head of Energy Team, Stephens Scown LLP
  • Sunil Kokal, Principal Professional, Saudi Aramco, EXPEC ARC

Environment Award

  • BURN Manufacturing for BURN Life-Saving Cookstoves
  • Komotini Paper Mill for Biomass boiler saves SME during the Greek crisis
  • Saudi Aramco for A Zero-Liquid-Discharge (ZLD) Water Treatment Solution for Produced Water Recycle and Oil Recovery
  • Solapac Ltd for Solapac
  • UK Power Networks for Domestic Energy Storage and Control

Innovation Award

  • Awesense for BC Hydro non-technical losses reduction program
  • Extreme Low Energy (ELe) for Low Energy Computing for Schools 
  • Saudi Aramco for Magnetic NanoMappers
  • Stanhope Seta for FIJI – FAME in JET. An instrument for the Rapid Screening of Aviation fuel
  • Stopford Energy & Environment for Microwave Induced Plasma Gasification

Safety Award

  • Baker Hughes, a GE company for The Perfect HSE Day
  • Health and Safety Laboratory for High Hydrogen Project
  • National Grid for Ballistic Screens
  • SGN for Locking cooker valve
  • TAQA for Safety Rep Reinvigoration Programme at TAQA
  • Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS for Poseidon: An autonomous structural health monitoring system for offshore platforms

Technology Award

  • BuildingIQ for BuildingIQ 5i platform
  • Cadent (formerly National Grid Gas Distribution) for BioSNG Demonstration Plant
  • EDF Energy Renewables for West Burton Battery Storage Project – one of the World’s largest
  • UK Power Networks for Kent Active System Management (KASM)

Young Energy Professional of the Year Award

  • Ciaran Patrick Doyle GradEI, Site Manager, BP
  • Dina Bayasanova, Project Manager – Compact GTL, Zurich Investment Services 
  • Rose Atkinson CEng MEI, Research and Development Manager, SolarNow
  • Tobi Babalola, ‎Low Carbon Network Design Engineer, UK Power Networks
  • Yodaly Sierra-Rubio GradEI, EMEA Energy Finance and Business Development Manager, CBRE

Winners of the EI Awards 2017 will be announced by former England rugby star Matt Dawson, MBE in front of an audience of hundreds of industry leaders at a prestigious ceremony on 9 November at the Sheraton Park Lane Hotel, London. The judges’ choice award, the Energy Excellence Award, sponsored by Amey will be the final award to be announced with the judges choosing from those shortlisted. 

Bookings for this exclusive event, which includes a formal dinner in recognition of all of those shortlisted, are now open. For more information and to join the celebration of energy excellence, visit the EI Awards page here: 


Notes to editors

1.For media enquiries please contact Isabelle Wilton, Communications Officer on +44 (0)20 7467 7173 or 

2.The Energy Institute (EI) is the professional body for the energy industry, developing and sharing knowledge, skills and good practice towards a safe, secure and sustainable energy system. The EI supports approximately 23,000 individuals working in or studying energy and 250 companies worldwide, providing learning and networking opportunities to support professional development, as well as professional recognition and technical and scientific knowledge resources on energy in all its forms and applications.

3.The EI Awards is a competition run by the Energy Institute for those shaping the world's energy future. The awards celebrate the achievements of the energy industry across the globe, giving recognition to individuals and organisations who take an innovative and responsible approach to solving the industry's challenges of providing society with clean, sustainable, low cost and dependable energy.


Not a member?