Skip to content

Media centre

Energy industry celebrates at EI Awards

Released on 16/11/2012

The winners of this year's Energy Institute (EI) Awards were presented with their trophies at a gala ceremony held at the Sheraton Park Lane Hotel, London last night. The event was hosted by Colin Jackson CBE, former World, European and Commonwealth 110m hurdles champion.

Now in their 13th year, the annual EI Awards reward and recognise individuals and organisations across the global energy sector, promoting excellence and innovation across many disciplines. They emphasise significant industry developments and dynamic approaches to new technologies. The EI is proud to run a competition which celebrates the contribution made by those working in energy on a daily basis and congratulates this year’s winners.

Michael Lane, Secretary General, CONCAWE, and judge for the Environment Award category, says, ‘The overall quality of this year’s submissions were even higher, making the judging difficult. Many entries were about energy efficiency and CO2 reduction, but some also covered other important environmental improvements. The commitment of managers and teams to their projects was exceptional, especially those that required effort beyond their normal business activities.’

Steve Walker, Head of Offshore Division, Health & Safety Executive, and judge for the Safety Award category, adds, ‘The judges were impressed by the breadth of innovative thinking demonstrated in the shortlist of nominations and by the management commitment shown to take those initiatives forward.  Learning from across the global energy industry is the key to achieving continuous improvement and I hope others can reap the benefits of the achievements showcased at this year’s ceremony.’

The winners of the EI Awards 2012 are as follows:

Communication, sponsored by The Daily Telegraph
Winner: The Crown Estate for its offshore wind cost reduction communication engagement strategy
Highly commended: University of Manchester for its public and stakeholder engagement by the Nuclear FiRST Doctoral Training Centre

Community Initiative, sponsored by Nexen
Winner: RWE npower for ‘Health through warmth’

Energy Excellence, sponsored by Ninox Energy
Winner: Sindicatum Sustainable Resources for its Duerping project

Winner: Halliburton for delivering unconventional resource plays with an environmental focus
Highly commended: Vivekananda Kendra NARDEP for its Shakti Surabhi bio-methanation plant: a socio-technological innovation

Individual Achievement, sponsored by Mott MacDonald
Winner: Dr Steven Fawkes CEng FEI, Chairman, Day One Energy Solutions
Highly commended: Lee Summers GradEI, Technical Director, The Alumet Group

Innovation, sponsored by AMEC
Winner: RTI International for NLITe™

Safety, sponsored by Shell
Winner: Mott MacDonald for its Black Oil Terminal, Visakhapatnam, India

Technology, sponsored by Costain Energy and Process
Winner: Aeristech for its full electric turbocharger 

Photo gallery from EI Awards 2012

Video highlights from the 2012 awards ceremony

For further information contact


Not a member?