Middle East HSE and Sustainability Week

Conference
  • Online
  • 22-11-2021
    /
    24-11-2021
  • Book now
Middle East HSE Sust Week logo

22 - 24 November 2021, virtual conference

Resilience: Responding | Rebuilding | Reimagining

Middle East HSE and Sustainability Week brings together two conferences focusing on HSE and sustainability, to deliver essential learning and sharing of international good practice to organisations across the energy industry, drawing on the Energy Institute's century-long expertise.

 

22 November 2021

07:00UK/10:00AST/11:00GST
Welcome to the conference

07:05UK/10:05AST/11:05GST
Topic to be announced
H.E. Dr. Abdul Hussain Bin Ali Mirza, President, Sustainable Energy Authority, Kingdom of Bahrain

Technical symposium session: Responding
Moderator:  Glyn Addicott CEng MEI, Operations Director, Hydraulic Analysis

07:20UK/10:20AST/11:20GST
The energy transition journey towards the green economy
The regional transformation trend to renewable energy and energy efficiency
Dubai’s transition journey towards solar power and energy efficiency while attracting major-private investors under the Public Private Partnership (PPP) model
Specific policies, projects, and statistics on Clean Energy Strategy, Dubai Green Mobility Strategy, and
Carbon abatement Strategy as ‘enablers’ for pursuing Green Economy
Taher Diab, Senior Consultant – Strategy & Planning, Dubai Supreme Council of Energy

07:30UK/10:30AST/11:30GST
Safety without supervision: achieving operational reliability in the dispersed workforce
Daryl Wake, Client Partner, DEKRA Organisational and Process Safety

07:50UK/10:50AST/11:50GST
Q&A

08:05UK/11:05AST/12:05GST
Networking Break

08:15UK/11:15AST/12:15GST
Designing or improving an existing toxic shelter
Anthony Sarrack, Principal Consultant, Baker Engineering and Risk Consultants

08:25UK/11:25AST/12:25GST
Investigating the sustainability of carbon capture and utilization (CCU)
Prof. Simon Philbin, Professor and Director of Engineering & Enterprise, London South Bank University

08:45UK/11:45AST/12:45GST
Q&A

09:00UK/12:00AST/13:00GST
Networking Break

09:10UK/12:10AST/13:10GST
The concepts of resilience in HSE and sustainability: the approaches and a way forward
Sarah Albon, Chief Executive, Health and Safety Executive
Hari Kumar, Director, GHSE Assurance, ENOC

10:10UK/13:10AST/14:10GST
Summary remarks

10:20UK/13:20AST/14:20GST
Networking Break

10:30UK/13:30AST/14:30GST
Roundtable Discussions

11:30UK/14:30AST/15:30GST
End of day 1


23 November 2021

07:00UK/10:00AST/11:00GST
Welcome to the conference

07:05UK/10:05AST/11:05GST
Topic to be announced
Speaker to be confirmed, BAPCO

Technical symposium session: Rebuilding
Moderator: Ayssar Hanza CEng MEI Chartered Petroleum Engineer, Process Safety Lead Engineer and Risk Engineering Director, Ace Energy Group

07:20UK/10:20AST/11:20GST
Drone-data based solutions to enhance safety
Eng. Mohannad Ashhab, Renewable Energy Engineer, Sager Autonomous Robotics

07:30UK/10:30AST/11:30GST
Emergency shutdown system bypass management
Mohammed Al-Zahrani, Process Safety Engineer, SATOPR

07:40UK/10:40AST/11:40GST
Rebuilding confidence and trust in the workplace in the wake of the ongoing pandemic
Lamis Al-Kaisi, Managing Director, LM Health and Safety

07:50UK/10:50AST/11:50GST
Q&A

08:05UK/11:05AST/12:05GST
Networking Break

08:15UK/11:15AST/12:15GST
Navigating the green waters of global safety requirements
Karen Vilas, Principal Consultant, Process Safety, BakerRisk

08:25UK/11:25AST/12:25GST
HSE and human-machine-interface technologies
TBC, Saudi Aramco

08:45UK/11:45AST/12:45GST
Q&A

09:00UK/12:00AST/13:00GST
Satellite-based subsurface water leak detection
Jonathan Jacobi, Sales Director, Utilis Israel

09:15UK/12:15AST/13:15GST
Networking Break

09:20UK/12:20AST/13:20GST
Business continuity planning: getting to the new normal
Renad Jad
, Lead-Risk Management, Tatweer Petroleum
Tahir Azhibekov
, Manager, HSE (Programs, Planning & Performance), ADNOC

10:20UK/13:20AST/14:20GST
Summary and closing remarks

10:30UK/13:30AST/14:30GST
Networking Break

10:40UK/13:40AST/14:40GST
Roundtable Discussions

11:40UK/14:40AST/15:40GST
End of day 2


24 November 2021

07:00UK/10:00AST/11:00GST
Welcome to the conference
Dr Waddah S. Ghanem FEI, Senior Director – Logistics & Marine Assurance, Emirates National Oil Company (ENOC) and Chairman, Energy Institute Middle East Branch

07:05UK/10:05AST/11:05GST
Topic to be announced
H.E. Shaikh Mohamed Khalifa Al-Khalifa,
Minister of Oil – Kingdom of Bahrain, National Oil & Gas Authority
Moderator: Dr Waddah S. Ghanem FEI, Senior Director – Logistics & Marine Assurance, Emirates National Oil Company (ENOC) and Chairman, Energy Institute Middle East Branch

Technical symposium session: Reimagining
Mustafa Akberi Vahgjipurwala CEng MEI Chartered Energy Engineer
, Technical Services, Petrofac

07:30UK/10:30AST/11:30GST
Hybrid renewable energy microgrid for oil and gas operations
Eng. Carlos Reviero AMEI, Energy Manager, Reentech Energy Solutions

07:50UK/10:50AST/11:50GST
Q&A

08:05UK/11:05AST/12:05GST
Networking Break

08:45UK/11:45AST/12:45GST
Q&A

09:00UK/12:00AST/13:00GST
Networking Break

09:10UK/12:10AST/13:10GST
The new energy future: what’s possible for HSE and sustainability
Moderator: Dr Waddah S. Ghanem FEI, Senior Director – Logistics & Marine Assurance, Emirates National Oil Company Limited (ENOC) and Chairman of Energy Institute Middle East Branch
Speakers:
Speaker to be confirmed, Saudi Aramco
Amjad Abdullah
, Head of Partnerships in our Country Engagement and Partnerships Division, IRENA

10:10UK/13:10AST/14:10GST
Summary and closing remarks
Dr. Waddah S. Ghanem FEI, Senior Director – Logistics & Marine Assurance, Emirates National Oil Company (ENOC) and Chairman, Energy Institute Middle East Branch

10:20UK/13:20AST/14:20GST
Networking Break

10:30UK/13:30AST/14:30GST
Roundtable Discussions

11:30UK/14:30AST/15:30GST
End of day 3

Under the Patronage of:

 
H.E. Shaikh Mohamed bin Khalifa Al Khalifa
H.E. Shaikh Mohamed Khalifa Al-Khalifa
Minister of Oil – Kingdom of Bahrain
National Oil & Gas Authority

Dear industry colleagues,

As Bahrain continues to expand, develop and diversify its energy system, this growth is supported by a recognition that workplace health and safety, and environmental protection (HSE), form critical aspects of a high-performing, efficient, and sustainable economy. Continuous improvement of HSE among the regional energy community, and a sustained focus on duty of care towards people and the environment, are therefore key factors in delivering resilience – and even more so when confronted with global crises like the COVID-19 pandemic.

HSE improvements are driven by collaboration and knowledge sharing among a community of highly skilled professionals. That is why I have great pleasure announcing that the Kingdom of Bahrain will host the 4th edition of the Middle East HSE Forum, delivered by the Energy Institute (EI). Hosting this forum will enable innovation, foster the uptake of technology and enable people-focused solutions across the region.

The Energy Institute has been developing and sharing knowledge, skills and good practice for the good of society. Their programme of HSE technical good practice guidance is built on collaboration between the biggest global energy operators, regulators, academia and industry experts.
This network is brought to bear to deliver the Middle East HSE Forum, a unique opportunity for the HSE community to discuss key issues with global experts in an intimate and practical forum, and to make tangible contributions to the global and regional knowledge base.

I welcome you all to the 4th edition of the Middle East HSE Forum and looking forward to seeing a practical event, delivering tangible benefit to its participants, and to the region, through collaboration on key regional HSE issues.

H.E. Shaikh Mohamed Khalifa Al-Khalifa, Minister of Oil – Kingdom of Bahrain, National Oil & Gas Authority

 
H.E. Dr. Abdul Hussain Bin Ali Mirza
H.E. Dr. Abdul Hussain Bin Ali Mirza
President of Sustainable Energy Authority
Kingdom of Bahrain

Dear industry colleagues,

Safe, affordable energy defines modern life for Bahrain’s citizens and many communities in the Middle East – and demand continues to grow. At the same time, the impact of climate change means the world urgently needs transformation to a sustainable energy system. As a major energy centre, the Middle East has its part to play.

We must therefore ensure that the benefits of reliable access to energy continue to be felt, while also tackling the man-made emissions causing climate change. This is summed up by the UN Sustainable Development Goals 7 and 13 which highlight the global need for access to clean, reliable, affordable energy. It is our responsibility to ensure that these long-term goals are at the centre of the recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Bahrain Sustainable Energy Authority (SEA) has been set up to ensure rapid progress towards the Kingdom of Bahrain’s National Renewable Energy Targets and National Energy Efficiency targets by highlighting barriers to their achievement and taking clear and decisive action to ensure the barriers are overcome. A major part in this process will be to promote cooperation among our innovators, companies and key stakeholders in the kingdom, but also collaboration and knowledge sharing with regional and global actors.

That is why I’m delighted to announce that the Kingdom of Bahrain will host the 4th edition of the Middle East Sustainability Forum, delivered by the Energy Institute (EI).

For over a hundred years, the EI has been developing and sharing knowledge, skills and good practice for the good of society. They collaborate with the biggest global energy operators, regulators, academia and industry experts to support the low carbon transformation of the global energy system.

This network is brought to bear to deliver the Middle East Sustainability Forum, a unique opportunity for the sustainability community to discuss key issues with global experts in an intimate and practical forum, and to make tangible contributions to the global and regional knowledge base.

I welcome you all to the 4th edition of the Middle East Sustainability Forum.

His Excellency Dr. Abdul Hussain Bin Ali Mirza, President, Bahrain Sustainability Authority

About the event

The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in unprecedented changes to our lives, the economy and the way we do business, highlighting vulnerabilities but also raising new opportunities. It has generated a seismic shift towards virtual and remote activity challenged concepts of business continuity. Around the world, many operations were confronted with new realities and some ground to a halt.

Internationally, curfews and lockdowns have got us thinking about what the future will bring with many thought-provoking and fresh ideas, discussions and debates to enable us to build back better as we emerge out of the COVID-19 pandemic and how to lead HSE and sustainability out of the crisis into a new world.

Over the three days of this conference, we will bring insight, good practice, innovative thinking, learning and solutions to ensure the energy industry can continue to deliver energy responsibly and safely; preventing harm to people/society and protecting our planet in delivering a more sustainable energy system. As such, this conference will be delivered in the context of the following themes:

  • Resilience: what can we learn to build a more resilient operation, to succeed through crisis and rapid change
  • Responding: To address immediate challenges, identify solutions and prioritise actions
  • Rebuilding: To support companies with plans and systems
  • Reimagining: To embrace innovation, apply tools and techniques, transform business models and governance and align government legislation and policy

This conference will bring together industry, academia, regulators, consultants, think tanks and solution providers to HSE and sustainability in the Middle East in the context of major changes we’re all living through. This will cover:

  • Strategies for HSE management
  • Improving health, welfare and wellbeing of workers and society
  • Managing hazards that have the potential to cause major accidents and controlling risk and uncertainty
  • Improving human performance and operating safely
  • Strategies and policies to drive sustainability and decarbonisation
  • Insights and innovation in reducing emissions, OPEX and carbon footprint
  • Lifecycle resource management, processes for mitigating environmental impacts and exploring the latest technological development in sustainable economies

Why should you attend

  • To expand your knowledge and find solutions to problems: To take stock of latest developments and what we’ve learnt from the pandemic. You will be able to hear lots of new ideas and solutions that can be thought provoking and innovative. These could be new techniques, technology, products, insight and research; giving you the opportunity to learn from thought-leaders that you may have not heard of previously and get advice on work that could enhance your competencies and capabilities and learn beyond your field or interest.
  • To network and build collaboration: Bringing together people from a wide range of backgrounds and disciplines from different geographical areas, of whom you may not encounter at your workplace or institution and it’s a great place to reconnect with someone that you’ve not spoken to for a while, and a place to make connection with collaborators, solution providers or someone that could help with your professional career by sharing job ideas. It also a great place to meet with peers that have the same interests or maybe to meet with someone that has the same goals to succeed can be a great occasion for you to build new collaboration for your project.
  • To enhance your professional and personal development: Providing you with tools and skills, allowing you to dig deeper with the understanding of your topic or interest. Being at a conference is also another way to establish your name and work as an expert in the field.
  • Contribute to industry: To collaboratively build technical good practice programmes and share guidance and standards.

Dates for your diary: 2022’s Middle East HSE and Sustainability Week will be held in Bahrain on 6 – 8 December. For more details please visit the website.

Contact details:

Book now